The Future Is On The Internet

March 25, 2009

Type any future date into Wikipedia and you will find out what is going to happen.

From the Wikipedia entry on 2010: “According to David Crystal, author of the Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language, the change of pronunciation to “twenty X” will occur in 2011, as “twenty eleven”, explaining that the way people pronounce years depends on rhythm, rather than logic. Crystal claims that the rhythm or “flow” of “two thousand (and) ten”, beats that of “twenty ten”, but the flow of “twenty eleven” beats “two thousand (and) eleven”.”

4 Responses to “The Future Is On The Internet”

  1. DocDelete Says:

    Sorry David Crystal, I’ll be saying Twenty Ten.

  2. Vicki Says:

    I think you might be in the majority DocDelete.
    I’ve just put up a survey asking BrE and AmE speakers what they’re saying. Only 20 responses so far but ‘twenty ten’ seems to be winning.
    The survey’s here if you’d like to join in.
    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=wnrsxYfKk6xshdNHxNkdJw_3d_3d

  3. matski Says:

    Hey Vicki,

    I’ve voted for “two thousand and ten” (and I’m British). Though I’m genuinely not sure how I will say it until its crunch time. I suspect I”ll just use whatever others use.

    I wonder if the pronunciation will alter for the British because of the influx of Americanizations and American expressions which only seems to work one way (USA to UK but not vice versa). For example, if “twenty ten” is used in America by Barack Obama, he will then be broadcast saying it in the UK, then it may be picked up over here.

    As an aside, I’ve noticed a handful of British people using the expression “a bunch of stuff” in the last few years, particularly people working in technology where I know it gets used very often in online video software demos and blogs coming from America. Particularly by Apple’s Steve Jobs, who uses it profusely…

    • DocDelete Says:

      Matski, though I’ll be (am) saying twenty-ten, I reckon your theory is correct.

      I’ve been using twenty-ten for over two decades. Two decades? Why?

      Well, just after I read Arthur C Clarke’s 2010: Odyssey Two, I watched the US movie of the same name. In my mind, ’til that point, I’d been saying two-thousand-and-ten. After the movie I shifted seamlessly to twenty-ten, albeit with a minor ‘ oh’ from my Brit hindbrain.


Leave a Reply

